The Four Accords©, published in 1997 and sold about 9 million copies. It has been on the New York Times bestseller list for nearly a decade. Everything we do is based on agreements we have made – agreements with ourselves, with other people, with God, with life. But the most important agreements are those we make with ourselves. One downside of the book is that some of the chords are too extreme and, if you take them literally, can cause additional problems in your life if taken without a proverbial grain of salt. However, with a little balance and a sense of openness, these chords can each be transformative and relieve stress. Here is an explanation of each of the four agreements. According to Don Miguel Ruiz, everything we do is based on agreements we have made – agreements with ourselves, with other people, with God, with life. But the most important agreements are those we make with ourselves.

In these agreements, we tell ourselves who we are, how to behave, what is possible, what is impossible. A single agreement is not such a problem, but we have many agreements that come from fear, deplete our energy and reduce our self-esteem. In The Four Agreements, Don Miguel reveals the source of self-limiting agreements that deprive us of joy and cause unnecessary suffering. If we are prepared to amend these agreements, there are four agreements of deceptive but powerful simplicity that we can adopt as guiding principles. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, the Four Accords offer a powerful code of conduct that can quickly transform our lives into a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love. Although the chords are sometimes oversimplified, this is still a great little book with heavy ideas. Focusing on one of these agreements can significantly improve your life and reduce stress. Focusing on all four can really change many people`s lives. If these suggestions are followed in a general and non-fanatical way, they can help you relieve a large amount of stress by helping you avoid thought and behavior patterns that create frustration, blame, hurt feelings, and other negative emotions. In part 1 of this 2-part video, we learn about the «domestication» of man and how all the rules and values of our family and society are imposed on us by a system of punishment and reward. As young children, our true nature is to love and be happy, to explore and enjoy life; We are absolutely authentic. But then we learn to be what others think we «should» be, and because it`s not acceptable for us to be who we are, we start pretending to be what we aren`t.

When we are teenagers, we have learned to judge ourselves, to punish ourselves and to reward ourselves according to agreements we have never chosen. The Four Accords help us break self-limiting agreements and replace them with agreements that bring us freedom, happiness and love. Explore your book, then return to where you left off with Page Flip. Speak with integrity. Just say what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the sense of truth and love. Ruiz, DM. The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom. San Rafael: Amber Allen Verlag; 1997. Things to keep in mind: Many people don`t realize the power of their words and don`t see the harm that can be caused by careless, thoughtless, or aggressive speech. Most of us are aware that it can be annoying for them to yell at someone, but small subtle digs or gossip behind their backs can hurt others more than we realize, and by hurting them, we hurt ourselves.

In part 2 of this 2-part video, we learn the book of the law that governs our mind and the inner judge that makes us suffer because we never live up to our «image of perfection.» All our normal tendencies are lost in the process of domestication, and we begin to look for what we have lost. We seek freedom because we are no longer free; we seek happiness because we are no longer happy; We seek beauty because we no longer believe that we are beautiful. What we are looking for is our «self». With practice, the Four Accords help us regain our «authentic self,» and this is the greatest gift we can give ourselves. What it entails: By this, Ruiz means doing your best at all times so as not to regret it. Some days, your best isn`t as good as other days, and that`s okay. As long as you make an honest effort in life, you will have nothing to be ashamed of and will not fight for a less than exceptional performance in retrospect. What it entails: This agreement deals with avoiding gossip, lies, empty promises, and other ways we cause problems with our words. Just say what you want to say and realize that you can do harm if you don`t pay attention to what you say.

Learn more about the events, people, and locations in your book with Wikipedia integration. In The Four Agreements, best-selling author Don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that deprive us of joy and cause unnecessary suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, the Four Accords offer a powerful code of conduct that can quickly transform our lives into a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love. · A New York Times bestseller for over a decade. · More than 8.5 million copies sold in the United States · Translated into 46 languages worldwide. «This book by Don Miguel Ruiz, simple but so powerful, has made a huge difference in the way I think and act at every encounter.» – Oprah Winfrey «Don Miguel Ruiz`s book is a roadmap to enlightenment and freedom.» – Deepak Chopra, author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success «An inspiring book with many great lessons.» – Wayne Dyer, Author, Real Magic «In the tradition of Castaneda, Ruiz distills essential Toltec wisdom and expresses with clarity and perfection what it means for men and women to live as peaceful warriors in the modern world.» – Dan Millman, author, Way of the Peaceful Warrior Emily is a fact-checker, editor, and author who is familiar with psychological content. Ask Alexa to read your book with Audible integration or text-to-speech. In the Four Agreements, Don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that deprive us of joy and cause unnecessary suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, the Four Accords offer a powerful code of conduct that can quickly transform our lives into a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love.• A New York Times bestseller for more than a decade• More than 8.5 million copies sold in the United States.• Translated into 46 languages around the world Nothing else to do, is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, of their own dream. If you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you will not suffer unnecessary suffering. Enjoy features that are only digitally possible – start reading right away, take your library with you, customize the font, create shareable notes and highlights, and more.

While it`s important to let go of much of your concerns about the opinions of others, some comments need to be taken into account and the needs of others should also be respected. Don`t give up work to discern responsibility, otherwise you risk causing more stress in the long run. It`s a good suggestion not to make assumptions, but it should be tempered by inner wisdom and common sense. .